Three Weeks

It’s amazing what a couple of solid hours of sleep will do for you. Thanks to a magic little pill called Ambien, and a wonderful husband who sacrificed his evening shut-eye and took care of the feedings (thankfully Lukas is finally learning to take a bottle!), I have had three nights in a row where I got over four hours of sleep. Four hours in a row! I am not ready to run a marathon just yet (or even a household for that matter,) but I am feeling much more human.

Which reminds me, thanks so much for all of the congratulations and well-wishes over the last couple of weeks. You guys are so great!

I had a follow-up appointment with the OB yesterday. He says that I am doing better, although I am still behind the curve in terms of pain. I’m pretty much off of the Vicodin now (Thank goodness, the side effects were killing me. Night sweats and sinus headaches are no fun,) but I am still taking the maximum daily amount of Ibuprofen.

Besides the expected abdominal pain, I also have a killer lower backache. The OB recommended a heating pad which is helping. If things don’t resolve themselves in a couple of weeks, I might try the physical therapist again.

I had hoped my digestive woes would resolve themselves after the birth, but they are still hanging around. Also not enjoyable, but manageable at least.

My mental state resembles a roller coaster. Most of the time, I am so overjoyed to have this little bundle here with me, that I can’t even begin to describe it to you. Other times, mostly when I am overly tired, I feel overwhelmed and weepy. We’re keeping an eye out for postpartum depression, but so far this seems to be just severe sleep deprivation and a little bit of the “baby blues.” The OB says to take an hour every day for me. I’m not sure how to accomplish that, but I’m going to try. Maybe writing up this post counts?

Breastfeeding is not a walk in the park, but it is much improved. I’ve seen two lactation consultants, including one from the local health department. She came to the house for free and brought a wealth of information on all things baby, including vaccinations, bottle feeding, and milestones. She even tweaked our car seat installation. She also measured and weighed Lukas and listened to his heart, lungs, and tummy. He is growing like a weed. She was astounded to discover that he gained six ounces in a week. She says most breastfed babies gain about half of that amount. His newborn-sized onesies, the same ones he was swimming in last week, are almost tight now.

When she watched us breastfeed, I was dismayed to hear, yet again, that his latch is great. So why am I in so much pain? She was persistent in helping me, though, and she suggested that I pump a little before I feed because I’m making too much milk. This causes me significant pain, especially when he latches, basically because I am too … er … full. Hopefully this little trick will keep me going until my milk supply balances out to his demand. I am trying not to get too hung up on breastfeeding, but it’s hard. I think the hormones and lack of sleep are messing with my practical reasoning skills. It is such an emotional decision to stop breastfeeding, and it’s not like you can change your mind back once you decide to quit. So I’ve made myself a few mini goals; If I can make it to one month, I’ll try for three months and then for four months (when I return to work.) If things are going well then, I’ll shoot for six months. I’m close to that one month goal (just a week to go,) but that three-month goal seems really far off. We’ll see what  happens.

It is amazing what birth, recovery from surgery, and breastfeeding will do for your waistline. I’ve lost 25 pounds in three weeks. I actually weigh about five pounds less than I did pre-pregnancy. Of course, I am still pretty flabby, especially in the belly area, but I almost have a waist again.

Incidentally, my BGs have leveled out some, but they still seem to have a mind of their own. Matching my needs with the right amount of insulin is kind of like hitting a moving target, partly because there is no real pattern and partly because I am exhausted and just don’t have the energy or the time. I am still taking considerably less insulin than I took pre-pregnancy. I was at about 35 units per day then, now I am at about 20 units per day. At the height of the pregnancy, I was taking about 75 units per day. Pretty wild, huh?

Lukas is three weeks old today. I marvel at how much he has changed already. Everyday, he does something new, displays a new personality trait, or grows a little. He’s smiling and meeting my gaze while I feed him. He lifts and turns his head a lot, and uses his strong little legs to push off and squirm during tummy time. Even his eyelashes are growing! And I’m growing, too. Learning his needs and wants, what his cries mean, and how to type with a fussy baby in my arms. Now if I could just learn to care for him in my sleep!

Explore posts in the same categories: Postpartum

3 Comments on “Three Weeks”

  1. Autumn Says:

    Thanks for posting about the joys and trials of breastfeeding. I’m also planning on breastfeeding my daughter when she’s born in another couple of days. Hearing a real-world take from another mom with Type 1 is beneficial in lining up my expectations with reality.
    Wishing you more uninterrupted sleep and time with your precious baby boy.

  2. Julie Says:

    I have two children. My son who is now almost 13 was very difficult to breastfeed. At about 3 weeks I gave up and moved to bottle feeding. I still reget to this day not asking for more help. But with my second child, she is 4 now, I promised myself that I was going to make every effort. I made it to week 3 with her but it was really rough. It seemed she wanted to eat all the time. The consultant told me that at about 3 weeks they will go through a growth spurt and want to eat lots. If you can make it though that things will get easier. She was right. I hope things get easier for you and Lukas, hang in there!

  3. Jacquie Says:

    Like everything else I’ve read from you along the way, this sounds both terrifying and exciting — but it sounds like you’re doing great!

    Good luck with the sleep and the feeding and with everything else! And tell Lukas we all say “What’s up!”


Leave a Reply

