Introducing Baby NoName

Just twelve days ago, he was still safe and warm inside of me.

37 Weeks

We were all ready to bring him home.

Nursery

And when his cries pierced the silence in the operating room, our lives changed forever.

Operating Room - Just Born

And today he  is sleeping in the next room!

Sleeping In  My Arms

Sleeping on Boppy

Sleeping in Carseat

Born: June 10, 2010 at 8:16 pm

Weight: 5 lbs 15 oz.

Length: 18 ½ inches

BG: 87

It took over 48 hours of labor and ended in a cesarean section, but Lukas finally joined our family twelve days ago.

Naturally, he is the most beautiful baby to ever grace the planet … would you expect any less? 🙂

He is the poster child for newborn health. His BG at birth was 87 and remained constant from that point forward. Just like the textbooks say, he lost 10% of his body weight in the first two to three days, and then gained it all back by the end of the first week. We are so proud of him!

Obviously, Lukas is doing great. Mom is hanging in there. Between mastering breastfeeding and recovering from major abdominal surgery, I am pretty well spent most of the time. Yesterday I had my one week check up with the OB. He says my level of pain is higher than most. That is, most women are off of the major pain medicines in a week and just taking occasional ibuprofen. I am still hitting the Vicodin every six hours and the ibuprofen every six hours, too.

I also met with the lactation consultant yesterday, who helped a bit with our latch. Hopefully this will be the kick we need to beat mom’s soreness and move forward with breast feeding. Lukas is stubbornly attached to mom and her breast milk. He resists the bottle and the pacifier. I wonder where he gets his stubborn streak ? 🙂

My blood sugars have been erratic to say the least, but mostly on the low side. Thank goodness for my insulin pump so that I can make quick adjustments to my basal and bolus rates.

Sorry that this post is so short, but Lukas is finally sleeping and I really need a nap. Stay tuned for posts about my failed induction, my c-section, our experience in the postpartum unit and our first few weeks as mom and son.

Explore posts in the same categories: Postpartum

Tags:

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

28 Comments on “Introducing Baby NoName”

  1. Alyssa Says:

    Oh congratulations!!!! I’m glad his bg was so good! My daughter’s, when she was born, was 14.4. Yup, 14.4 (same units as your son’s 87).

    He is beautiful! Congrats 🙂

  2. Kerri. Says:

    He is beautiful!! Congratulations on a healthy baby boy, and a recovering mommy! (If you need anything at all, even just to vent, I’m here. C-sections aren’t fun to recover from – I am still working out the kinks, nine weeks later.)

    Best to you and your handsome little boy!


  3. Congratulations! He is an adorable little guy!

  4. Jacquie Says:

    Yay! I’d been checking for this! Congratulations to you — you give so many of us so much hope!

  5. Autumn Says:

    Congrats!!! What a handsome little fellow. Get some rest. I look forward to reading your posts on labor and delivary. We’re scheduled for an induction on 7/6/10, unless our little girl comes out on her own before then.


  6. Congratulations! He’s just gorgeous! (Just followed a twitter link Kerri posted so I could give you kudos. :D) Welcome to parenthood. It’s so great to see how all your hard work paid off (and that he was born with a bg of 87, which…from what I’ve seen…is so rare in parents of d-moms.)

    Now, of course, the REAL hard work is just beginning. 😛

  7. Jaimie Says:

    Congrats to you~!~! so sweet! (literally!) Take mommy time as much as possible and sending you patience as you make a recovery through the sugar leveling out, hormones and c-section…
    Take care~!
    Jaimie
    (T1 momma of 2, both c-sections,they are 10 and 11 now but I remember like it was yesterday lol)


  8. […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Kerri / Diabetes, Michael Hoskins. Michael Hoskins said: RT @sixuntilme: Another healthy baby born to a diabetic mommy – please give this mommy the kudos she deserves! http://tinyurl.com/3xhbgar […]

  9. Shannon Says:

    Congratulations! And welcome to the world, Lukas!

  10. Meghan Says:

    Congrats on a beautiful baby! I look forward to your posts on the actual delivery… I am 20 weeks along and will be having a C-Section at 39 weeks if all goes well. Needless to say, I am TERRIFIED! But I am so excited I found your blog to help me better understand what to expect!!

  11. Kathy Says:

    You know, I might just have to agree with you…he *is* one of the cutest babies I’ve ever seen. Maybe t1 mommies just happen to make pretty babies?! 😉

    Congratulations!

  12. brigdon Says:

    He is absolutely beautiful!! Congratulations! Get some sleep 🙂

  13. Saffy Says:

    Welcome to the world little, long awaited, lovely Lukas 🙂 Congratulations hon – I bet your mom is in seventh heaven too with such a lovely little man to cuddle 🙂

    It sounds like it’s all going so marvellously well. You did great my dear!!!

    • Mom Says:

      Saffy,

      Mom (the grandmother) is in seventh heaven.
      I am so proud of my daughter, my son-in-law and my
      beautiful grandson. The three of them have worked
      extremely hard to make this miracle happen.

      There will be a lot of sleepless nights until Lukas adjusts to his new world. But he is such a cutie.

      However we t1’s know all too well that we have to
      work harder to get what we want out of life. But
      it is so worth it!!

      The new Oma. (grandma in German)

  14. lindsay Says:

    Just gorgeous! Congratulations. So happy to hear that you and the baby are doing fantastic. May you enjoy all the ups and downs of motherhood!
    Absolutely love your post! Makes me smile. Looking forward to reading more.

  15. Sweets Says:

    Congratulations! You have a gorgeous son. Enjoy every minute with him, even the sleepness nights 🙂 Lukas is a beautiful name.

    C-section pain is not fun… I was still on quite a bit of pain meds way past the one week mark. But in the end this will pass too. Good luck with the blood sugar battle, I am sure it must be hard, especially with the breastfeeding added to the mix now!


  16. […] Read more here: Introducing Baby NoName « A sweet journey to motherhood […]

  17. Alison Says:

    Congratulations!

  18. Annie Says:

    Congratulations, Nici! He is adorable, and I was so thrilled to read how healthy he is! You did such a wonderful job throughout the pregnancy, and have given those of us following in your footsteps a great success story to follow! Can’t wait to hear more about the delivery when you have time. In the meantime, get some rest and ENJOY every second with Lukas!

  19. Lyrehca Says:

    Hooray! Congratulations! and I am a big fan of painkillers–early and often, in my opinion. Hope you’re feeling better soon!

  20. Mom Says:

    Welcome Lukas.

    We are so excited to finally get to meet you.
    Welcome home.

    Your mom and dad have a new ‘Best Friend’ to
    enjoy all life has to offer. You have chosen
    great parents.

    Your Oma is “Over the Top” with joy.

    Love,

    Oma

  21. Kaitake Says:

    Congratulations! He is a handsome wee man! You should both be very proud. I hope your recovery is swift and wish I you all the best. Now go and enjoy your adorable little boy! 😀

  22. jenn_ns Says:

    I just jumped over from Kerri’s blog at Six Until Me! we diabetics are everywhere!!! CONGRATULATIONS on the safe arrival of your beautiful baby boy!! 🙂

  23. Erin Says:

    Congratulations! He’s gorgeous. And what a great birthdate! (Though I may be a little biased, since it’s mine as well.) 🙂


  24. […] And in the diabetic mommy "good news" file, Nic at A Sweet Journey Into Motherhood has given birth to her healthy and absolutely gorgeous son.  Please be sure to skip on over there and see his beautiful pictures and give Nic some […]

  25. karend1 Says:

    What a cutie!!

  26. Suzanne Says:

    Hi there!! Congratulations! Lukas is beautiful! I second what Kerri said, if you need anything, please let me know… Kate is 12 weeks now and I am happy to share my experience and answer any questions; the most difficult part for me was breastfeeding, so if you have questions, concerns or frustrations, please please do not hesitate to let me know!

    Again, congrats… and get that sleep when you can!

  27. Katie I. Says:

    CONGRATULATIONS!! He is so precious! And I love the name. 🙂


Leave a Reply

