Swell

It started Friday morning. I was ueber-concerned about a shocking five-pound weight gain in less than a week. Holy cow. My guess was that my raging appetite was finally catching up with me. But then I noticed the puffiness around my eyes. I worried all day. And Friday afternoon I developed one of those pregnancy headaches that just wouldn’t die.

By the end of the day, my ankles were so swollen that my feet hardly fit in my shoes. They were achy and throbbing, too. Immediately, I panicked. I googled preeclampsia and ran through the list of symptoms. As a precaution I bought a blood pressure cuff and checked my BP. It said my BP was low. Maybe it’s not working? My PB is almost always “just right” when I’m in the doctor’s office.

Saturday morning when I woke up, my ankles were much improved, but still a little puffy. Before we ran our errands, I picked up a pair of those hot mama compression stockings. They were a bear to get on my feet, but I think they did help a little. Still, by Saturday afternoon, I was sporting a fair amount of bulk around my ankles.

By Sunday, my weight was back down a couple of pounds and holding steady. I spent the day at home, puttering with chores and propping my feet up on a pillow whenever possible. The swelling was considerably improved. Today, I am still sporting the compression stockings and they seem to be keeping the swelling mostly at bay. I’ve got some aching and throbbing, but the girth of my ankles is near normal. So I guess it’s probably not really pre-e. Just plain old pregnancy-induced swelling and my over-anxious mind.

Sometimes I think I might be a hypochondriac … According to Google, I have all of the symptoms.

Explore posts in the same categories: Aches and Pains, Second Trimester

Tags: , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

2 Comments on “Swell”

  1. Saffy Says:

    LOL about Dr Google but I think that’s understandable πŸ™‚ I did a complete FREAK OUT at 26 weeks and had the midwife come to my house – I was sure they were ready to admit me. And NOPE. It was normal. She said that if they can feel the shin bone and bp is okay, then it’s ok. Do you have any of those protein urine strips? I bought a box of those and that kept me from worrying too.

  2. Mama K Says:

    I had pre-e with my son, and had all of the symptoms you described, but didn’t have the high BP…until 2-3 weeks later, when it went through the roof. Please talk to your doctor about the warning signs–the headache is a really big indicator. I hope for your sake that you don’t have it and never develop pre-e, but if you do it’s best to get medical attention right away. And keep drinking tons of water to help the swelling πŸ™‚ Best of luck to you!


Leave a Reply

