Pregnancy Brain

The book warned me about pregnancy brain. It mentioned that I might forget a few things here and there or become a little distracted. I was not too concerned, though — I’m not one to forget details and I’m in the habit of writing things down when they seem like something I might forget.

But the forgetfulness is in full force now, and I am shocked by how strong it is. First it was names. Suddenly, I could not recall the names of people I’ve known for years, especially at work. Then it was words. It’s like someone removed the vocabulary center in my brain. I would be mid-sentence and the word I needed would just escape me. Poof! Gone.

Then it was my cell phone. I keep leaving it behind … in the car, in the kitchen, next to the bed. It seems that these days, wherever I am, my phone is definitely not.

And when I put things away, I can’t remember where I put them. Two nights ago I spent a half hour looking for a new bottle of ketone strips. They were in the first place I looked, but it took me three attempts before I actually saw them there!

And I fear that it might be getting worse. Sometimes I am in a meeting and I will start into an important thought and then it will just escape me. The whole thought. And when I am working on something and then get interrupted, when I get back to the original project, I find myself scouring my brain for a hint as to what I was working on. But the hints are not there. I can’t even begin to tell you how many times in the last 22 weeks I have gone to the grocery store and come home with only half of the items I needed. Even when I used a list! My husband has started to ask me if I have my meter every time we leave the house because I have developed a tendency to leave it sitting by the back door.

The book says that this brain drain is totally normal and that it will go away after the pregnancy. Apparently it is those pesky hormones up to no good again. In fact, according to their Website, brain-cell volume actually decreases during the third trimester. I hope they are right about my memory returning after the pregnancy. I am a Technical Writer by trade. I need my vocabulary and my detail-rich memory in order to do my job!

Babycenter.com is not so sure about pregnancy brain, though. They say that the results of recent studies conflict with one another, leading to inconclusive evidence.

I’m not sure about the studies or the hormones, but I can definitely attest to the “fog” that has crept into my brain.

Now if I could just find the “Publish” button …

Resources
Forgetfulness (Pregnancy Brain) on http://www.whattoexpect.com, http://www.whattoexpect.com/pregnancy/symptoms-and-solutions/forgetfulness.aspx
Forgetfulness during pregnancy on http://www.babycenter.com, http://www.babycenter.com/0_forgetfulness-during-pregnancy_236.bc
Absentmindedness and Pregnancy on ahealthyme.com http://www.ahealthyme.com/topic/absentmindedness

Explore posts in the same categories: Second Trimester

Tags: ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

Leave a Reply

