He’s Perfect

Today was the 20 week ultrasound, and our little baby was not bashful. He showed us multiple times that, indeed, he is a boy. A boy!

The technician took her time to inspect all of his miniature organs and limbs and everything is in tip-top shape. Baby has all of his arms and legs, all four chambers in his heart, a perfectly sized brain, a perfectly formed spine, and a beautiful mouth (no cleft palate.) What more could we ask for?

I would love to include a picture here, but my new doctor’s office does not do digital ultrasound photos. So all I have is hard copies. But I can tell you that they are just adorable. Of course, I might be just a little biased, but I doubt it 🙂

After the technician did her thing, we talked to the doctor, who says I am doing great. I asked about a couple of meds my other doctors have prescribed, and he said they were all fine. We also talked a little about my appointment with the dietitian. He warned me that the dietitians sometimes go a little heavy on the carbs in the diet plans, and that makes sense to me. She suggested 13 carb exchanges and 3 fruit exchanges, which is around 6-8 exchanges more than I normally eat. He suggested sticking with my normal carb count given my insulin resistance.

Now that my appetite is improving (maybe improving too much!), Things like proteins and veggies are starting to sound good again, so I am going to make an effort to shift back toward my pre-pregnancy diet. It is going to be hard to go back to being disciplined … these last couple of months were sort of like a diet vacation!

Speaking of insulin resistance, I’m pretty sure it is rearing its ugly head today. I have struggled to keep my sugar under 150 all day, even with extremely large correction boluses. I am sitting at 232 right now, likely a spike brought on by my lunch nearly three hours ago. I just shot in a rage bolus which should inevitably result in a rebound low sometime this evening. But what else am I supposed to do?

I usually send my BGs to my Endo every Friday, but I might send them tomorrow this week, especially if this keeps up. I’ve never seen anything like this before. And it came on so fast! Just two weeks ago I was still struggling with those continuous, crazy lows.

I’m sure this is just the beginning of my struggles with highs, but try as I might, I can’t squash that unnerving thought that keeps rolling around in the back of my mind … what if I’m hurting my baby?

And so the journey continues. I am trying to roll with the BG issues and just focus on the good news from the ultrasound today. It’s a boy and he’s healthy!

Explore posts in the same categories: Exams, Second Trimester

Tags: , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

2 Comments on “He’s Perfect”

  1. Kerri. Says:

    Congratulations on your beautiful baby boy!!! I’m so excited for you, and since you and I are basically doing this at the same time, I’m finding myself nodding “Yup, me too” as I read all of your posts. (Except the part about the baby boy. 😉 )

    I found the insulin resistance kicked in hard and FAST around the 21st week, for me. I went from low all the time to struggling hard to keep myself away from 200 mg/dl. My basals leapt at that point, and they’ve steadily increased since. (I’m now at 29 weeks.)

    Good luck with everything!! And hello to your little boy!!

  2. Katie I. Says:

    Hey, I just found your blog. Congratulations!!!!
    I wanted to let you know that the way I dealt with insulin resistance was exercise. For me, it made my pre-meal bolus way more effective and I didn’t get the postprandial highs. I delivered in the winter, though, so it was pretty easy to get moving since it wasn’t too hot! But just going for a 10-minute walk after eating helped keep my bg’s in range. (I’m also convinced that exercise helped me avoid symptoms of pre-e, but that’s just my little theory.) The other thing I did was bolus at least 30 minutes before I even put the first bite of food in my mouth. This can be tricky if you’re at a restaurant or something, but I found that timing my boluses well was key.
    God bless!! I can’t wait to hear more about that cute little baby,
    Katie I. 🙂


Leave a Reply

