When are you due?

I finally went to the gym this weekend to participate in my favorite water aerobics class. It has been nearly five months since I last attended the class.

When I got to the desk to sign in with my pin, I almost forgot it. Luckily, it came back to me at the last minute.

As I was walking away, the attendant says, “When are you due?”

“Huh?” I wasn’t sure what to say. This was the first time anybody has noticed that I was pregnant without my first pointing it out to them. And I was even wrapped up in my big winter coat. Flustered, I stammered, “Uhh … June … June 29th.”

“Congratulations”

“Thanks”

A big smile plastered on my face, I swaggered into the gym. Maybe I don’t just look fat anymore. Maybe my belly is finally starting to look like there is a baby in there. In the locker room, I was really self conscious. I felt HUGE. As soon as I could, I wrapped myself up in my towel to try to conceal my roundness.

The class was a lot harder than I remembered. That could be because it’s been so long since I did ANYTHING even resembling exercise. Of course, it could also be the new changes in my body.

I was able to squeeze into my old swimsuit, but just barely. Interestingly, when we did the jogging exercises, I found that I had to hold my belly because it was kind of floating all over the place. I can only imagine how much more pronounced that will be as everything gets bigger.

So after class, I started looking in earnest for a good maternity swimsuit. You can’t really buy a swimsuit around here this time of year, so I started looking online. It seems that a quality maternity suit is pretty hard to come by. Most of the suits I found are more for show than for actual swimming. I looked at a few online at Target and at Motherhood Maternity, but they were pretty flimsy. The reviews were pretty bad and I am fairly certain that they will not hold up to the chlorine nor to the strain my ever-expanding belly will put on them. After a lot of searching and a lead buried in the comments on this blog, I finally settled on this one:

Prego Maternity Black Empire Tank

It’s not the most attractive thing I’ve ever seen, but it gets good reviews from real swimmers and it looks like it has lots of support in all of the right places.I would have preferred not to spend so much money on something I will only be able to wear temporarily, but what are you going to do? I need the exercise, and wearing my current suit will soon become a matter of indecency.

It shipped today, so hopefully I will have it in time to try it out next weekend. I’ll let you know how it goes.

Explore posts in the same categories: Exercise, Second Trimester

Tags: , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

One Comment on “When are you due?”

  1. Mommyghee Says:

    For a great selection of maternity swimwear that is featured all year long-shop at http://www.newmommyteesandjeans.com You will love the selection and most suits can be worn after the baby comes. Water exercise is great for you and the baby!


Leave a Reply

