Blue Monday

Yesterday was a down day for me. It started out bad first thing in the morning. Upon arriving at work, I found my inbox full of e-mails about a difficult project that keeps rearing its ugly head. It’s one of those projects that just won’t die. Just when you think it is finally over, the e-mail discussion starts anew and the whole thing has to be revisited all over again.  Ugh.

Then there was the dentist appointment. Sure it could have been worse, but the thought that I was showering my baby in radiation as a result of that x-ray, coupled with the thoughts of the pending shot of Novocaine and the memories of prior drilling expeditions in my mouth did not exactly put me in a good mood.

And the weather. Yesterday started out gray, rainy and dreary, but then got worse. By the end of the day, it was dark, bitterly cold and snowing, too.

I arrived home late, after making up the hours for my dentist’s appointment, and I was tired and grouchy. I was slumped on the couch nursing a backache and generally feeling sorry for myself when the newscaster on the TV said something that caught my attention: Monday, January 25th is the most depressing day of the year.

Known as Blue Monday, apparently psychologists have identified the last Monday in  January as the “… bleakest day of the year.”

They blame it on “… holiday debts, terrible weather, and broken New Year’s resolutions.”

I blame it on office politics and the dentist.

Despite all this doom and gloom, there is a glimmer of hope in this whole Blue Monday concept; The last Friday in June, June 25th this year, is the happiest day of the year. Look on the bright side — it’s just five months away!

Explore posts in the same categories: Second Trimester

Leave a Reply

