On the Up Side

I use this blog to vent a fair amount of the time and you, my poor tortured readers, continue to visit. Thank you so much for putting up with me! I’m so glad that you continue to stop by. In light of my recent mistreatment of you, though, I thought I would try to lighten things up around here and detail a couple of the positives I have experienced so far on this journey. Here they are, in no particular order.

My husband is hilarious. No really. It is not unusual for him to come off with a pretty good joke, but thanks to these crazy pregnancy emotions of mine, I can be angry and irritable one moment, and laughing hysterically the next. As a result, his normal jokey banter can now set me off on a side-splitting, laugh-till-I-cry adventure. I haven’t laughed this hard since I was a kid. Thanks, honey!

I have an excuse for this “pooch” belly. For years I have fought that little chunk of fat around my belly button. I’ve never been quite sure whether it is my genes, my diabetes, all of the insulin shots I did there as a teenager, or my obsession with cookies that is to blame (it’s probably the cookies), but I have lived with this extra chunk of fat for as long as I can remember. And no matter how many sit-ups I do, or how many cookies I omit, it’s always there. Now that my belly really is starting to expand, that little pooch is starting to look like it belongs there. And when I am old and gray, and it’s still there, I can always blame it on this pregnancy (you won’t tell, will you?)

My A1C is spectacular. I have never seen A1C numbers this low. And while I am super glad that they are helping to keep my baby healthy, as added perk is that they are helping me stay healthy, too.

My hair is awesome. I’ve always had fairly “good” hair, but it typically takes a decent amount of work to keep it that way. Lately, it looks thick and shiny and smooth more often than not. A special thank you goes out to the hair gods (and the prenatals!) for this little perk. It sure makes getting ready in the morning easier!

I’m going to be a mommy! This is the best perk yet. As a child, I always dreamed of growing up to have one of my own, but I was realistic. I knew that pregnancy and diabetes did not always play well together. Luckily, I had a great role model in my own mother who gave birth to me after over 15 years with the disease. She showed me that it was not only possible to make it through a diabetic pregnancy, but it is also possible to make it through those crazy child-rearing  years, too, and to enjoy the journey along the way. I am so thankful to her for that lesson that she probably did not even know she was teaching. And know it’s my turn to follow in her footsteps. I am so excited!

Explore posts in the same categories: Second Trimester

Tags:

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

Leave a Reply

