Back from the (Near) Dead

So the first trimester has turned out to be quite a roller coaster. After the initial tubal scare, and the relief of a peanut with a heartbeat, we received a third bit of good news … our fourth ultrasound showed a still growing peanut and a heartbeat that was over the 150 beat threshold. We could finally consider this peanut “viable”.

The relief was short-lived though. It was followed almost immediately by morning sickness that would not die. It laughed in the face of the $50 Zofran prescription I took religiously. I was miserable and actually starting to second guess this whole pregnancy thing. Would I actually live through this??

Around week nine, after three weeks of increasing sickness, I finally broke down and had myself admitted to the hospital for IV fluids. I received 3 bags of fluid over two days and a new prescription for the nausea, this one for generic Phenergan. For the first time in nearly a week I was able to eat, even if it was just toast and ginger ale. I started to feel better almost immediately.

The nausea is stubborn, though. It is still hanging around now in week 12, but I am feeling MUCH better than I did back in week nine.

The big D is also doing it’s best to kick my butt. I have never seen so many lows and they come on fast and hard. Despite all of my efforts with temp basal rates and the suspend feature, I still find myself sometimes hovering in the 50’s and 60’s with quick dips into the 30’s and 40’s I have even seen a few numbers in the 20’s … wow, that’s scary.

My low-blood-sugar-treaters-of-choice have become apple cider, Carnation instant breakfast, and Jelly Belly jelly beans. In fact, I am forcing a pint of apple cider into my over-full belly as we speak.

As the first trimester nears its end, I am preparing for my 12-week ultrasound, and feeling nervous yet optimistic. Sometimes it is still hard to believe that there is a baby in there, and I am still worried that the technician will find something on the ultrasound, but I am getting a little more used to the idea of being pregnant. At times, it seems like the time will never come when I will finally hold this baby in my arms, and at other times, it feels like the time is just whizzing by. 12 weeks already! And I spent most of it curled up in a ball in bed. There is so much to do and so little time!

Explore posts in the same categories: first trimester

Tags: , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

One Comment on “Back from the (Near) Dead”

  1. Andrea Says:

    Oh Honey, you cannot believe the relief I am feeling reading your news!!!!


Leave a Reply

