Zofran, I think I love you

Our visit with the OB was relatively positive yesterday. The heartbeat is up from 97 to 119. I still have to go back in a week to make sure everything is growing.

We got another ultrasound picture … a white blob with a blinking black center suspended from a white yolk sac. I’m sure that it doesn’t look like much to the outside world, but it is beautiful to us. We hung the picture on the refrigerator. I am getting less and less nervous with each visit.

One of the highlights of the visit was the prescription for anti-nausea medicine. The doctor prescribed Zofran and I am actually starting to feel human again. Don’t get me wrong, I don’t feel normal, but this stuff is definitely taking the edge off and I am preparing for a day at work (and out of bed) for the first time in almost a week.

Of course, it makes me a little leery that the drug is not actually approved for use during pregnancy, but there is a lot of good anecdotal evidence out there, so I am just hopeful that everything works out. And for the first time in five days, the scent of my own deodorant (powder fresh?) is not making me gag.

Explore posts in the same categories: Exams, first trimester, Uncategorized

Tags: , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

2 Comments on “Zofran, I think I love you”

  1. Suzanne Says:

    Yay!! Great news! Keep us updated on that little heartbeat! I am glad you are feeling better, too… makes such a difference, huh??

  2. Bethany Says:

    I love the little white blob of the early ultrasounds. I carried that picture around with me everywhere, even though we didn’t tell anyone until after the first trimester.

    I know a lot of women who used Zofran during their pregnancy, if that makes you feel any better. heehee. It’s hard not to be worried, though, nearly impossible. Enjoy the journey, though! 🙂


Leave a Reply

